## January 2, 2024 Reorganization Meeting – Council Chambers Millersburg, Pennsylvania

<u>Meeting Call to Order</u> – Mayor Alan Bowman called to order the Reorganization Meeting of the Millersburg Borough Council at 6:00PM with Cl'ms Dietz and Hoffman present. Cl'ms Elect Campisi, Hoke, Hoy, Borough Manager James Whitall and Borough Secretary Ann Jackson were also present. The invocation was given by Mayor Bowman, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Guests</u> – Adam Hoy and Family, Michael Campisi and family, Sean McVey, Lenny Sizer & Matt Eck, FSA, Rebecca Smith-Witmer, Shane Comp, Rick Hoy, John Hoffman, Terry Kerwin, Kees VanDeWalle

<u>Presentation of Certificates of Election</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that all four Certificates of Election have been received.

<u>Swearing in of Newly Elected Council Members</u> – Secretary Jackson administered the Oath of Office to Adam G. Hoke, Alexis A. Campisi and Jessica M. Hoy as Councilmembers. Photographs were taken to commemorate the occasion. The majority of the guests left the meeting, with Mr. Hoffman and Mr. VandeWalle remaining.

Nomination and Election of Council President – Mayor Bowman conducted the election of Council President, calling for nominations. Cl'm Hoke nominated Cl'm Dietz for President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Bowman declared Cl'm Dietz Borough Council President.

Nomination and Election of Council Vice President – Mayor Bowman called for nominations for Council Vice President. Cl'm Hoke nominated Cl'm Boyer for Vice President. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Bowman declared Cl'm Boyer Borough Council Vice President.

Nomination and Election of Council President Pro-Tempore – Mayor Bowman called for nominations for Council President Pro Tempore. Cl'm Campisi nominated Cl'm Hoke for the office of President Pro Tempore. There were no other nominations. Motion carried and Mayor Bowman declared Cl'm Hoke as Borough Council President Pro Tempore.

The meeting was then turned over to President Dietz.

<u>Appointment of Solicitor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Campisi to reappoint Terrence J. Kerwin of Kerwin and Kerwin as Borough Solicitor for the next two years. Motion carried.

Appointment of Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator – Motion by Cl'm Hoke, seconded by Cl'm Hoffman to appoint Commonwealth Code Inspection Services as the Borough's Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator. Motion carried. Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to appoint Barry Isett as the Borough's Building Code Administrator. Motion carried.

Appointment of Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator – Motion by Cl'm Hoke, seconded by Cl'm Campisi to reappoint Sean Grimm and John Brabits as Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator, respectively. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Borough Manager</u> – Motion by Cl'm Campisi, seconded by Cl'm Hoffman to reappoint James Whitall as Borough Manager. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Secretary-Treasurer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Campisi, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to reappoint Ann Bowman Jackson as Borough Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Junior Council Person</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Campisi to appoint Kees VanDeWalle as Junior Council Person. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Auditor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to appoint J.H. Williams, CPA as the Borough auditor. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Millersburg Fire Company #1 Auditor – Borough Representative</u> – Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Hoke to appoint Judy Snyder as the Borough's representative to the Fire Company's Audit Committee. Motion carried.

<u>Property Maintenance Appeals Board – Appointment to Three-Year Term</u> – Motion by Cl'm Campisi, seconded by Cl'm Hoy to appoint Mark Koppenhaver to the Property Maintenance Appeals Board. Motion carried. Cl'm Campisi made a motion to rescind her previous motion, seconded by Cl'm Hoy. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Vacancy Board Chair</u> – No action taken.

### **Unfinished Business**

<u>Secretary's Office – Keys, Workstation Assignments</u> – Keys will be offered to Council President Dietz, Vice-President Boyer, Mayor Bowman and Codes Officer Karen Brown, with extra key/s stored in the key lockbox in Manager Whitall's Office. The second workstation in the Secretary's office will be shared by Mayor Bowman and Ms. Brown.

### New Business

#### Committee Assignments

Employee Relations Committee – Cl'm Campisi Finance & Risk Management Committee – Cl'm Hoy Parks & Recreation Committee – Cl'm Boyer Property Committee – Cl'm Hoke Public Safety Committee – Cl'm Snyder Streets Committee – Cl'm Hoffman Economic Development Committee – Cl'm Dietz

# Organization Assignments

Upper Dauphin COG – Cl'm Dietz
Millersburg Area Pool Association – Cl'm Campisi
Millersburg Fire Company – Cl'm Snyder
Millersburg Area Authority – Cl'm Hoffman
DC Tax Collection Committee – Secretary Jackson
Millersburg Ferry Boat Asso. – Kees VanDeWalle
Dauphin Lebanon Cnty Boroughs Asso. – Cl'm Dietz
UD Industrial Development Authority – Cl'm Dietz
Mbg. Borough Safety Comm. – Manager Whitall
Garden Committee – Cl'm Campisi

President Dietz announced the next meeting which is set for January 10, 2024 at 6:00PM.

Motion by Cl'm Hoffman, seconded by Cl'm Campisi to adjourn the meeting at 7:15PM. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Ann Bowman Jackson Borough Secretary